We work very hard to preserve your privacy and security, and we do our best to be as transparent as possible in explaining how we use your data in providing our Services. Please contact us if you have any questions at firstname.lastname@example.org.
DatChat has to collect some information from you in order to provide our Services to you, but we do so in a limited and secure way. We can’t see information your passwords or messages you send through our service. Only you and your recipients have the keys to lock and unlock your encrypted messages.
Deletion is permanent. When you delete a message, or when a message expires, the data cannot be recovered by us or anyone else. Depending on your device, screenshots may or may not be possible. On iOS and desktop, screenshots are much more difficult but possible with our screenshot prevention technology. We cannot prevent someone using a camera to take a picture of a message on a screen. Therefore, we strongly encourage you to only send private messages or sensitive information to people you know and trust.
You own your data. We do not share or sell any data about our users. Period. We are committed to limiting our collection of your information to what is necessary to provide you with our Services.
We only collect basic information from users who create DatChat Accounts. You must create a DatChat Account to use the DatChat App. We will NEVER collect any location information or have access to the contents of the communications you send using the DatChat App. After messages are deleted (or after they expire), they are permanently deleted and are not retrievable by us or anyone else. (Remember, however, that if you send a DatChat message to another DatChat user, that message might remain on their device even after you delete it from yours, depending on the value you set for the self-destruct instructions of that message and whether the recipient took a screenshot of the message.) If you chose to recall or self-destruct that message then the recipient will no longer be able to view it and it will be deleted.
User-Provided Information: We collect some very limited information from you after you download the DatChat App in order to allow you to create a DatChat Account, and begin using the DatChat App.
Your DatChat Screen Name, phone number or email are how you allow others to contact you via DatChat. It does not have to be your real name or provide any reference to your identity. Your Password: We require you to have a password to use the DatChat App. For your own security, we recommend that you use a long, unique password consisting of a mix of upper and lower-case letters, numbers, and symbols. On some devices you may also use you’re a biometric password.
Push Notifications: When setting up your DatChat Account, we will ask if you want to receive notifications of new DatChat messages. Push notifications are functions of devices operating system, so if you enable this feature, your devices operating system’s manufacturer will know that you are using the DatChat App, but will not know anything about how you use it or be able to see anything you transmit through it.
Screen Name Connections: To allow your friends to find you on DatChat, you may choose to associate your other contact information such as, just your phone number or email address with your DatChat Screen Name. This information will not be shared with them. This way, you can let your friends search for you on DatChat without revealing your contact information to us.
Auto-Login: By default, the DatChat App will automatically log out of your account after a set period of inactivity, and in order to use the DatChat App again, you will have to reenter your password. If you enable Auto-Login, you will be able to use the DatChat App after a period of inactivity without having to enter your password each time.
Automatically Collected Information: DatChat collects two types of information automatically during your setup and use of the DatChat App: Device Information and Aggregate Usage Data.
Device Information: The DatChat App will collect a hashed representation of both your mobile device type and your mobile device’s hardware ID during registration, in order to connect that information with your account and to tie your account to your device. Aggregate Usage Data: During the operation of our services, we also collect aggregate, anonymous information about basic usage statistics, such as the number of messages sent by all DatChat users daily, what types of messages our users tend to send. We never attempt to (and cannot) identify users associated with any of this information. What Information Does DatChat Share with Third Parties?
We do not share any user information we have with third parties, with the exception of the third-party service with whom we share your phone number for the sole purpose of sending you an SMS confirmation if you choose to associate your phone number with your DatChat Account.
We will always notify you of any third party requests for your information unless legally unable to do so. As soon as legally permitted to do so, we will notify our users of requests for their information. We require a warrant before handing over the contents of your communication, however, because of the nature of our technology, the contents of your communication will be undecipherable if obtained.
You can delete your account at any time. Once deleted your account will be irrevocably suspended, ensuring that nobody can use that DatChat Screen Name again in order to prevent impersonation. If you wish to delete your DatChat account, go to DatChat Settings, Account, tap “Delete Account” and verify by entering your password.
We Retain As Little Data as Possible, for the Least Time Possible
Data Retention on DatChat Servers: Our servers store the encrypted messages that you send and receive only long enough to ensure their reliable delivery to each device associated to your account. We retain non- message data (i.e. Types of messages) for as long as you use the DatChat Services and for an indefinite time thereafter.
Data Retention on Your Device: All messages are stored in encrypted form on end users’ devices. You choose your own retention policy for your messages by choosing how long a message is viewable before it is deleted (via the self-destruct time for sent messages and manual deletion for your device). Deleted messages cannot be recovered.
Children and COPPA
We do not collect or know any information about our users which would identify them, their ages, or their personal contact information to us. Nor do we target our Services toward any particular group of users. We do not store any users’ information in retrievable form and only contact users via push notifications and popup message to advise them of software updates or other general administrative or technological notices.
In order to comply with the COPPA,DatChat does not allow Users age 13 without an adults’ permission.
Users Outside the US
If you use our Services and reside outside the U.S., your information will be transferred to the U.S. and will be processed and stored there under U.S. privacy standards. By using our Services and providing information to us, you consent to such transfer to and processing in the U.S.
You are responsible for complying with any laws or regulations in your country that govern use of applications and services like DatChat.
Contact Us if You Have Questions
If you have any questions regarding privacy while using our Services, or have questions about our practices, please contact us via email at email@example.com